Social Media for Artists

Social media is on often underutilized tool for artists. The fast changing ever growing world that includes Linked-In, Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and blogs is difficult to keep up with let alone grasp in the first place…especially for those who would rather stitch or paint than get lost in the vast expanse of the internet.

The new book, The Social Media Sales Revolution: the New Rules for Finding Customers, Building Relationships, and Closing More Sales Through Online Networking by Landy Chase and Kevin Knebl is not geared directly to the artist intent on marketing their work but it is full of great social media marketing tools that every artist can utilize. Chase and Knebl throughly explore and explain the benefits of Linked-In, Twitter, Facebook and blogs as how to actually use them. There is an entire chapter devoted to how to include these tools into your already full work day and manage your time so you avoid being sucked into the Facebook void and out of your studio.

This book is a great introduction to the the world of social media marketing. It is written in an easy to understand and implement style that isn’t heavy on tech talk. Social media is not going away…in fact, it is changing the way the world does business and it is incredibly cool and fun.

This review is entirely the opinion of Liz Kettle and is not endorsed or reviewed by SAQA. Tell us how you are using social media to market your work and establish your brand.

2 thoughts on “Social Media for Artists

  1. Thanks for the review Liz.

    I’ve been on the internet forever, sent my first email in 1985. Cut my teeth in usenet newsgroups in the late 80s and early 90s until the internet took over our world.

    So for me, social media is how I’ve been communicating since I was in my late teens, it just comes naturally.

    I actively market my art on facebook (both my profile and my business page), twitter and now google+. I’ve also been blogging for over 6 years.

    All of this has been enormously helpful to my career. I’ve been discovered by galleries, invited to exhibits, sold a bunch of art, made some fabulous friends through these tools.

    My advice to those starting out is to make a plan for what you will talk about on each of the different sites. Makes it easier each day to think of appropriate things to say.

    For example – on google+ I’m sticking to very professional posts, no marketing talk at all, minimal meta discussion “ie how fabulous google+ is”. Lots of new poeple there discovering my artwork – very very cool indeed.

    On my facebook profile, I chat away about my life – movies, theater, garden, and even once my cute kitten.

    I recently wrote a blog post about this, briefly explaining to my readers what I’m talking about where. So they know what to expect in each location and they can follow me in the appropriate place based on what they want to read. That post is here: http://blog.lisacall.com/2011/07/more-communicating-with-the-world/

    It all takes a lot of time, but I’ve found it to be worth the effort. Plus I’m a software engineer and I’m infront of the computer 8 hours a day, social media updates about art keep me connected to my creative side.

    (course here it is friday evening yammering on – time to head to the studio instead!)

    Looking forward to this discussion!

    • Lisa, how much time do you schedule for social media each week? The way you have divided what gets posted on which platform is great and helps both you and your followers! Thanks for sharing your wisdom.

Leave a Reply

